;)
What do the rules say about a ball that is knocked into the hole by another ball?
Getty Images
The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.
During a stroke-play competition, I hit my second shot close to the hole on a par four. My opponent’s approach shot then knocked my ball in the hole. I claimed that the ball was holed for a 2, while he argued that I had to replace my ball and tap in for a 3. I declared a provisional before doing so, as I believe that a “ball holed” can’t be taken out of the hole and replayed on that hole. The scoring committee had never encountered this situation and decided my score was a 3 — and so I missed a playoff by 1 stroke. Was I wronged?—Robert L. Stegge, via email
No, Robert, you were righted. The only thing really baffling here is that the Committee had any hesitation on how to rule in this instance, but it came to the proper conclusion.
You indeed needed to replace your ball without penalty and then tap it in. Your ball was moved by an outside influence—the other ball in motion. Under Rule 9.6 there is no penalty to either player, and you replace the moved ball. We will note, too, that “provisional” has absolutely no place in this conversation.
For more holed-ball guidance from our guru, read on …
I played a blind shot from a deep greenside bunker onto the green, then raked the sand. Eventually, I got to my ball, missed the resulting putt and tapped in. Walking off the green, I noticed a stray ball marker. Turns out one of my playing partners forgot to tell me she’d marked my ball and moved it from her line. Should I have been allowed to replace my ball at the proper spot and replay from there? Also, any penalties and, if so, to whom? —Terry Christensen, via email
In stroke play, the other player is an outside influence, and there is no penalty to anyone for the ball being moved. File it under: Stuff happens.
Since you had no knowledge or virtual certainty that an outside influence moved your ball— see Rule 9.2b(2) if you’re inclined — you proceeded correctly, not from a wrong place, and the ball is holed. No replace, no replay, no nada.
Need help unriddling the greens at your home course? Pick up a custom Green Book from Golf Logix.
Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.